Abortion Laws by State | Trust Women Foundation | Wichita, Kansas

How are reproductive rights faring in your state? Do you know much about abortion laws where you live?

The Guttmacher Institute offers a comprehensive guide to laws regulating abortion in every state.

Click here for more information about specific abortion laws in your state.

In Kansas, where Trust Women opened a clinic in Wichita in 2013, the following restrictions on abortion were in effect in Kansas as of Dec. 1, 2015, according to the Guttmacher Institute:

  • A woman must receive state-directed counseling that includes information designed to discourage her from having an abortion and then wait 24 hours before the procedure is provided.
  • Abortion is covered in private insurance policies only in cases of life endangerment, unless an optional rider is purchased at an additional cost.
  • Health plans that will be offered in the state’s health exchange under the Affordable Care Act can only cover abortion when the woman’s life is endangered.
  • Abortion is covered in insurance policies for public employees only in cases of life endangerment.
  • The use of telemedicine for the performance of medication abortion is prohibited.
  • The parents of a minor must consent before an abortion is provided.
  • Public funding is available for abortion only in cases of life endangerment, rape or incest.
  • A woman must undergo an ultrasound before obtaining an abortion; the provider must offer her the option to view the image.
  • An abortion may be performed at or after 20 weeks postfertilization (22 weeks after the woman’s last menstrual period) only if the woman’s life is endangered or if her physical health is severely compromised, based on the spurious assertion that a fetus can feel pain at that point.

In Oklahoma, where Trust Women opened a clinic in 2016 in Oklahoma City, these laws are in effect, according to the Guttmacher Institute:

  • A woman must receive state-directed counseling that includes information designed to discourage her from having an abortion and then wait 72 hours before the procedure is provided.
  • Abortion is covered in private insurance policies only in cases of life endangerment, unless an optional rider is purchased at an additional cost.
  • Health plans that will be offered in the state’s health exchange under the Affordable Care Act can only cover abortion in cases when the woman’s life is endangered, unless an optional rider is purchased at an additional cost.
  • Abortion is covered in insurance policies for public employees only in cases of life endangerment, unless an optional rider is purchased at an additional cost.
  • The use of telemedicine for the performance of medication abortion is prohibited.
  • The parent of a minor must consent and be notified before an abortion is provided.
  • Public funding is available for abortion only in cases of life endangerment, rape or incest.
  • An abortion may be performed at or after 20 weeks postfertilization (22 weeks after the woman’s last menstrual period) only if the woman’s life is endangered or if her physical health is severely compromised, based on the spurious assertion that a fetus can feel pain at that point.